//
you're reading...
Leadership, sustainable development, Uncategorized

Going back to clean

13012872_10153983056746007_8368912597845064011_n

I am going back to the ISL to clean. Not that I didn’t clean before. But i am thinking about what happens next. I have been away for 6 months and although things are basically the same way things have changed. 

Uche has been mainly responsible with Tony and Christie supporting him while i was away. They have been working with the young people from the community doing reading, art, and science classes and going on exciting field trips. They started a movie night on Saturday nights as well. Engagement with adults have been limited in terms of activities and classes.

Thanks to Uche , Tony and Christie, Joval, Zanj and Mr.Mac and all those who volunteered, the ISL has continued without me. 

Cleaning is me thinking about my role after 6 months of indirect involvement but 6 months of repositioning the leadership and management of the ISL to Uche.  

I still want to make a contribution to shaping the space, but i need to be clear about where the best space for me is. What is my new role at Di ISL?  Friendships at the ISL have changed and therefore the transition at this point is different and difficult. 

If i spend time cleaning i can begin to organize things in my mind. Georgia thought me this. to clean the ISL is to support the most basic need at the ISL and then by doing that see where the things will have to go. Maybe cleaning will turn into something else but i am going back to clean the ISL

About afifa

dj. artist. creative director and co-founder of the SO((U))L HQ and DI Institute for Social Leadership. I make ritual spaces.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

